Homeschool Resources

The other day I had a friend ask me if I had ever used PERC for homeschooling. I told her I had never heard of it. She explained that it was a free resource to parents held in the basement of the Orem Library. They have been around for years and have built up a collection of thousands of school resources that are available to anyone.

I was intrigued and decided to check it out. What a resource it was! I only wish I had known about it sooner in my homeschooling endeavors. It would have helped so much, plus saving us lots of money in the mean time. They have games, movies, books, lessons, manipulatives, posters, flannel board stories, CD’s, computer games, etc for every area of learning. They have lots of hands on activities for preschool age children. Lots of reading resources if you have children learning to read. It is a gold mine.

image

We started taking advantage of it checking out math games, science videos, beginning reader sets, etc. We now have a scheduled class that puts us right next to the library. So while the older kids are in a class, the younger ones come with me to check out school stuff for the week. This week Belen wanted to check out a Mr. Potato head to play with.

I am even thinking it would be a great idea to clean out my house, donate our stuff to them and just check it out when I need it. Then I don’t have to store it, or pick it up a thousand times.

If your interested in checking it out for yourself, here is a link with the basic info.  PERC – Parent Resource Center. It is available to anyone. You don’t have to be a home schooler to use it either. It’s a great resource for game nights, LDS flannel board stories, movies, toys, puzzles or resources for kids struggling in school, or for summer learning.  We love it!

Leave a Reply

