Road Trip

Recently my husband and I were able to go on a road bike trip to Salmon, Idaho for a couple of days with his parents and their friends. What I great time!

My sister Tiffany was willing to watch our kids for the couple of days, so we could enjoy some time away with just each other and what a great break it was.  We stayed the night in Idaho Falls, enjoyed an amazing dinner at the Snake Bite Resturant, went to the movie, and enjoyed some cake from Johnny Caringo’s. The next morning it was sprinkling and a bit nippy. So we had to stock up on extra sweat shirts, since I have not had the chance yet to buy my own leathers. I’m saving up I tell you. 🙂

ImageWe drove up through Challis, Idaho on our way to Salmon stopping at the first nuclear energy site, and lunch at a little cafe in Challis.  It was a beautiful ride, with nothing better than sitting behind my amazing husband, relaxing and enjoying the feel of the wind against our faces. And a few bugs or two that hurt pretty bad. 🙂

ImageThis is definitely not the most flattering picture of me, but of him.. wow!  What can I say, he’s hot.  I love that fact that he looks amazing with a 5 o’clock shadow, and he looks amazing all cleaned up, shaved and in a suit.  Sorry ladies but I think I found the best one out there.

Every year we have tried to make it a point to get away together with no kids even if it is only for one night. Most of the time we have been able to do it for a short 2-3 day trip thanks to grandparents, and aunts who are willing to help out. We’ve always felt it was important to keep our own relationship strong, so that we could be better parents to our kids, and show our kids how important our marriage is to us. For quite a few years, we’ve been able to get away on the motor bike together, and it has always been a great time to build us. If you haven’t had a chance to get away with your spouse in a while, I really encourage you to be creative and figure out some way to fit it in. If it’s because you don’t have a babysitter, then call me up! I’ll gladly do it to make someone else’s marriage stronger. You’ll be surprised how much good it will do the two of you as well as your kids.

Leave a Reply

