Mr. Popper’s Penguins

I have been wanting to do more literature units with my children after seeing what a great job my friend Sanz does with them. I thought a fun one to start with would be Mr. Popper’s Penguins.  I read it years ago in a children’s literature class for one of my college summer courses.  I also thought it would be fun to watch the movie afterwards and do a comparison.

poppers001

While we were reading the book we did some school activities related to penguins.  Of course there has to be an art project included in there somewhere. I saw this one recently on Deep Space Sparkle and knew it was perfect!  Caitlyn actually held out through the whole project, followed directions and ended up with her best artwork yet!  I love how their little personalities shine through.  
Penguins1 Penguins2

Top Left to Bottom ( Mirian, Caitlyn, Savannah and Isaac)

Penguins5

We also did some math lessons taking the various species of penguins and determined their average height. We then graphed those on a large measuring paper that was about 48 inches long.  I had them number each inch, and then we glued which penguin was that height. We also measured each of them and put them on our graph so they  could compare how tall they were to a penguin.

Penguins3 Penguins4 

We read about penguins and watched the documentary March of the Penguins so we could learn about their habitats and behaviors.  We did geography and matched where different species of penguins live around the world.  We finished by watching the movie, and then did a venn diagram of what was the same and different between the book and the movie.  Let’s just say that there were lots of liberties taken in the movie, and I much prefer the book.

We had such a great time doing this unit that I can’t wait to start another one. I’m thinking the Chronicles of Narnia are going to be our next books.

One thought on “Mr. Popper’s Penguins

  1. sanz says:

    We loved this unit! And I agree about the movie…it was lame compared to the book! I need to update your new site so I know when you post. Love the art by the way.

Leave a Reply

